The New (Original) Holmes County Flea Market, Berlin, Ohio

by Recent Visitor
(Ohio)

Every year in the fall, my sister and I would travel to Berlin, Ohio to enjoy the day at the Holmes County Flea Market.

We were excited this year because of the move to another place that was being made by this flea market. We decided to go twice this year. The end of April we drove over an hour to spend the day at the Holmes County Flea Market.

We are very disappointed in the flea market since it moved. There are not very many vendors like at the other one. The vendors that are there are selling all of the same things, not a good variety like at the old one.

The cheap stuff, ($1, $2, $3, etc.) has taken over a huge area of the market. We did not see the artificial flower section that we liked from the old one. We did not see the vendor who sells the beautiful touch lamps either. We were very disappointed at the lack of variety at this flea market now.

What bothered us the most is the lack of concern for the handicapped. My sister requires a wheelchair. Because we could not park close to a door, she had to hang on to her car, hobble to the sidewalk, step up a BIG STEP to the sidewalk and get in her wheelchair.

A wheelchair cannot be pushed in the stones. In front of each door is a small patch of black top to roll a wheelchair up to the door. If you do not have the parking place right by the door......how can you push a wheelchair in the rocks with a body in the chair?

Also, the doors are not handicap friendly at all. Had there not been a very nice customer going thru the door the same time we were, I'd not have been able to get my sister thru the door until someone did come along to hold the door open.

It was awful and we were exhausted just getting in the place. I would suggest that the doors be propped open as often as possible or at least something available to prop them open for wheelchairs to get thru.

I would also suggest it be made a priority to get the entire handicapped parking areas completely blacktopped at least a car and van length from the sidewalk so the wheelchairs can at least easily get to the doors.

We understand it's new. We understand that not everything gets done when things are new in the timely manner people would like. This flea market needs to be far more handicap minded and it sure needs more variety inside.

Right now, we do not plan to return in the fall.

Comments for The New (Original) Holmes County Flea Market, Berlin, Ohio

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 28, 2013
Rating
star
New Berlin Fleamarket
by: Anonymous

I was very disappointed on my visit. I made a special trip just to shop there. All the items were either cheap quality or very overpriced. I liked the old flea market up on the hill. They have a nice entrance in the back for wheelchairs. But, you have to push wheelchairs thru thick gravel to get to the door and the door is hard to open & so heavy. They need an automatic door opener even if only for wheelchairs. I wanted to buy old items such as tools and only one stand had some tools but they were not old. I don't believe I will shop there next time I go to visit Amish Country.

Nov 10, 2011
Rating
star
Disappointed
by: Linda Tucker

We loved the old Flea Market. We always bought a season parking pass because we went several times each season. Don't really care for the new one. There is no comparison. Several old dealer are not there. It used to be such a friendly atmosphere, not as much now. We may go, only ocassionally, but not fun there any more.

Oct 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
DISAPPOINTED WITH NEW FLEA MARKET
by: Anonymous

NOTHING COMPAIRED TO THE OLD BERLIN FLEA MARKET. MY HUSBAND I WOULD VISIT 2 TO 3 TIMES A YEAR. SINCE THE NEW FLEA MARKET WE'VE BEEN THERE TWICE IN 3 YRS. SO DISAPPOINTED....WON'T EVER GO BACK.

May 15, 2011
Rating
star
PASS THIS BY
by: Jo Ann Dire * West Virginia

My daughters and I go to Amish Country about every three years. This was our first trip to the new flea market. We were so disappointed. We ordered some deep-fried food from the kitchen and it was cooked way too long. Ended up throwing it away and buying pretzels. Most all of the merchandise is new and from China. We didn't see a lot of the old vendors we remember from the market on the hill. We left and went to town where we should have done all of our shopping. We will never go back here again!

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Disappointing
by: Anonymous

Sure miss the old flea market on the hill. The NEW one can't compare with the old one. Very disappointing.

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
star
WHAT HAPPENED TO AMISH COUNTRY?
by: Marie Carter

What happened to Amish Country? Went to this flea market a week ago and what a disappointment. We bought some candy and it was stale. I am guessing that it was at least a year old. One whole wing is nothing but Chinese stuff. Most of it is priced under $5.00. I would say that 85% of the merchandise is Chinese. Where are all the Amish crafts? They are not at this place. This can't be the same market that was on the hill. Don't waste your time stopping here!

Nov 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Wonderful Experience
by: Anonymous

I guess most of you have missed the fun days for the customers. There are drawings on different days, some fun days for kids, others for adults! Everyone there is nice, friendly, & helpful. Sorry some of you think you had a bad experience. They have a lot of parking paved for handicap, they even have wheelchairs to lend you. What a wonderful experience!!

Oct 06, 2010
Rating
star
ALL FOM CHINA
by: Sally Brickner

My family and I went to this flea market last Friday. We only had the day to spend in Amish country and we hoped to find lots of local crafts. What we found was loads of stuff from China. There is actually one section that is like a "dollar store." This place is not worth the stop. If you are looking for a great variety of crafts, try Sol's in the little town of Berlin.

Sep 23, 2010
Rating
star
THERE ARE TWO FLEA MARKETS
by: Anonymous

We were at this flea market earlier this month and we were not impressed. It is not nearly as nice as the old market and the management is not very friendly. We did stop at the other flea market in Walnut Creek. It is called the Walnut Creek Amish Flea Market. It is a much better market with lots of merchandise to choose from. It is easily accessed and the people are so friendly. Make sure you see the Walnut Creek market.

Sep 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply to - Terrible Ownership
by: Anonymous

In the Jul 25, 2010 posting from Terrible Ownership
I think you have the Holmes County Flea Market confused with another one. The Holmes County Flea Market is not owned or managed by anyone named Sharon and they don't have a play set / swing set.
Sorry you had such a bad experience.

Please come try the Original Holmes County Flea Market at our new location 4550 S.R. 39 Berlin.

We offer over 64 paved handicap spots and a single level climate controlled building.

Jul 25, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible ownership
by: Secret swinger

I stopped by this particular flea market Saturday, and encountered the extremely aggressive and rude owner Sharon. She confronted my teenage friend who was using the swing set, he was nothing but polite to her and she was incrediblly rude to him to the point where she told him to shut up.

Jul 05, 2010
Rating
star
A disappointed customer
by: Anonymous

I stopped by the flea market and was disappointed to find the items being sold were new. I was expecting used. The Hartville flea market is a place where a lot of used transient venders come with lots of surprises. It is an adventure to go there every time. I thought your market was more like a Walmart. I was very disappointed and left after paying the three dollars to park for nothing. That is another thing. I don't have to pay to park to shop at most places...why there?

Mar 26, 2010
Rating
starstar
Flea Market
by: Sherry Palmer

I would travel 3 hrs to Ohio to visit. The main attraction for me was the flea market. Much to my dismay it had moved. The new site has a ways to go to match the previous one. They need to get more vendors that have hand crafted items not recycled China merchandise. The reason I was attracted to the area was due to the handcrafted items from furniture on down. When you decide to let vendors resell junk it takes away from the down to earth atmosphere.

Jul 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Changes at the Market
by: Holmes County Flea Market

Sorry that your first experience at the market did not meet your expectations. There are now 70+ venders with outdoor vending growing each week. We are doing our best to establish variety within the venders and are always looking for new unique additions. We started with 14 handicap spots the first week and by the second week were up to 65 spots including 20 on cement with access to ramps leading to double doors. The market was designed all on one level specifically with the handicapped in mind and we have three wheelchairs that we lend out free of charge at the information desk. On top of all that we have reworked our kitchen and menu and would love to offer you a free meal if you would decide to stop by again. Keep the feedback coming and feel free to contact us at (330)893-0900 or manager@holmesfleamarket.com.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ohio Amish Country Shops Reviews.

Holmes County Flea Market

by Verna English
(Otisville, Michigan)

My husband & I visited the Flea Market in October of 2009 and just returned to revisit, August 2010. I loved it as much the 2nd time around. I use an electric handicap scooter and found the aisles had ample room to turn around, see what the Vendors had and it was easy access to enter the building. Vendors were very kind when I tried to get close to merchandise in their area and couldn't get through. They actually moved things out of the way so I could get close to their products. When I decided to buy a 2nd item, they got it for me. Exceptional service! I appreciate that the building is on one floor. With disabilities, it can be a pain to shop and I pass stores up that are multi-level. I would recommend this Flea Market to anyone. Both visits were A+.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ohio Amish Country Shops Reviews.

(Original) Holmes County Flea Market

by Recent Visitor
(LaGrange, Ohio)

I don't feel that the new Holmes County Flea Market has taken the needs of the handicapped in mind at all.

I am a person in a wheelchair. It's a real challenge to get in the place. After you do get in, the vendors have so much merchandise in their area a wheelchair cannot get through to look around.

I had to look at most of the products from the aisle where everyone else was walking up and down.

There also is not much variety at this new flea market. I was really disappointed. A lot of the vendors are selling the same stuff.

I didn't see the vendors with all the gorgeous flowers. I didn't see any vendors with those beautiful touch lamps. For me, many things weren't there that made the old flea market so unique and such fun.

I don't plan to drive over an hour to visit it in the fall. Usually my family and I would make a yearly trip in the fall. Because of the excitement over the "new" location, we decided to go in the spring. It is no longer worth the trip to us. And after what we went thru to get me in the place, well...no thanks! We were exhausted.

Comments for (Original) Holmes County Flea Market

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The Best Flea Market
by: Sam Donn

The Holmes County Flea Market located in Berlin, Ohio is the only Market to see in Amish Country.
Very clean and organized, facility is much easier to get in and out of and the food is way better at this one! This is the old Market that was on the hill in Walnut Creek and they moved it to Berlin. We will go back again.

Nov 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent
by: Zappa

I have been to the HCFM several times and it was worth it every trip. Lots of variety, extremely friendly people, clean and neat as a pin, well organized and managed - the likes go on. There is a TON of handicapped parking spaces, all paved and upfront. Still being new, the rest of the lot is gravel, but it is well-marked, well-maintained and the minimal parking charge is going to the paving of the entire lot eventually. A very positive shopping experience.

Jul 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
The nicest flea market I have ever visited
by: Anonymous

I would like to say that my visit to the Holmes County Flea Market was a delight. I have visited many, many flea markets and I must say that it is the cleanest and the most friendly market that I have ever visited. There are many, many handicap parking spaces for those that need them. There is quite a variety of merchandise available. There are not a lot of repeat items. I always visited the market for my lace and my country curtains. I drive over 5 hours to visit and I have already been there twice this year and will be back at least another two before the year ends. I just want to say that it is worth anyone's time to make this visit to Berlin to the flea market.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Ohio Amish Country Shops Reviews.